• Category Archives New Town Drunks
  • Baudelaire in a Box goes “spinny” Jamie B. Wolcott, Curtis Eller’s American Circus, and New Town Drunks release Baudelaire in a Box: Songs of Anguish, a collector’s volvelle and EP.


    Baudelaire in a Box goes “spinny”


    Jamie B. Wolcott, Curtis Eller’s American Circus, and New Town Drunks release 

    Baudelaire in a Box: Songs of Anguish, a collector’s volvelle and EP.


    In 2009 Dave Buchen, of Chicago’s Theater Oobleck, launched Baudelaire in a Box, a serialized recasting of 19th century French poet Charles Baudelaire’s “Les Fleurs du mal”, currently in its eight episode.  Buchen creates and operates “crankies” (hand-cranked, scrolling images), while a varied cast of musicians provide a soundtrack of musical adaptations of Baudelaire’s haunting poetry.

    After participating in Baudelaire in a Box, Episode 4: Bad Luck, Curtis Eller’s American Circus and New Town Drunks recorded four of the pieces they had composed for the stage show, and illustrator Jamie B. Wolcott was recruited to design an accompanying volvelle or “spinny”, the handheld cousin of the cranky.

    The team is now proud to release Baudelaire in a Box: Songs of Anguish, four original musical compositions based on Baudelaire’s poems presented in a hand-made, screen-printed, 7″ x 7″ collector’s spinny that illuminates the grim imagery described in the music. Turn the wheel and watch as horrors beset the heart of the poor tormented soul.

    For a short video demonstration of the spinny please go here: youtu.be/Z_f3EPNP_Qw

    To purchase the spinny and download the music please go to: 

    ·         http://baudelaireinabox.bandcamp.com

    Please visit the following websites for more work from these artists:

    ·         Theater Oobleck: https://baudelaireinabox.wordpress.com/

    ·         Jamie B. Wolcott: http://www.jamiebwolcott.com/

    ·         Curtis Eller’s American Circus: http://www.curtiseller.com/

    ·         New Town Drunks: http://www.newtowndrunks.com/


  • New Town Drunks release new album, Kiss, on May 28, 2013


    On the 2598th anniversary of the eclipse that ended the Battle of Halys, Hmm Media is proud to announce a new record by New Town Drunks (Diane Koistinen and Roberto Cofresi).    NTD’s new full-length record, Kiss, produced by NTD and Stu Cole (Squirrel Nut Zippers), was recorded at Sound of Music Studios in Richmond VA with Alan Weatherhead (Sparklehorse, Lucero, Camper Van Beethoven) and mastered at Ultra Fin Riz Studios in Chapel Hill NC.

    The record features 9 new songs by NTD including a translation of a song by Catalan artist Joan Manuel Serrat, and a musicalization of a poem by Charles Baudelaire.   The recording features outstanding performances by Mr. Cole on bass, Robo Jones (Sex Police) on trombone, Nathan Logan (Hooverville) on drums, Doug Norton (See No Weevil) on keys, and Miguel Rodriguez-Urbiztondo (Cracker) on percussion.

    “This is a more song oriented album, than the last one, each song is a kiss.” says Cofresi, “Some are sweet, some have more bite to them.”

    The album will be available on CD, and on air fresheners with download codes.  You can hear the first single from the album, Kiss Kiss, and pre-order the album, on the band’s website and from bandcamp (for downloads).  After May 28, 2013 the record will be available at most online retailers through Chicago’s Disclexington Productions, and at selected record stores.

    New Town Drunks have been playing together since 2003 and have released one single, a studio EP, 2 live EPs, and a previous full-length studio record.

    pre-order physical copy here.

    pre-order digital downloads here.

    for more info: